Thread: Early impressions of the GEE

Early impressions of the GEE

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi there,

since I wasnt able to find out much about user experiences with the GEE, I thought Id put my own early impression forward for anyone who might be interested in it :)

Picked up the GEE about 2 weeks ago, so I cant say I mastered it yet. But the shots are improving, especially after picking up a naked portafilter from 9Bar (thanks guys!). Paired with the Breville Smartgrinder it took me probably a good week before -more or less accidentally- hitting a decent grind setting. As a complete newbie to grinding your own coffee I find it extremely hard to figure out how fine the grind is supposed to be - it reminds me of my mum telling me a recipe for pancakes: "Take 2 eggs, flour and milk and mix together". Me:"how much milk, how much flour?" "Oh, youll see..." Needless to say, I didnt. Point is, these things come with experience, which I dont have ;) yet...

Functionality and steam
    Back to the GEE, despite my shortcomings as a barista, the GEE seems to be doing everything its expected to do. Steam power is quick to come on, and as long as I dont forget to purge the steamwand, the steam is powerful and dry and I have never produced better froth/microfoam.

Build quality and looks