Thread: Advice please.

Advice please.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I have been reading and reading and a lot more reading and can not decide on which avenue to go. I have decided on the breville smart grinder however cant decide on a machine. I live in Maitland and dont really know anywhere nearby to try any machines. My partner and I want an espresso machine that is less than $800, can make two lattes reasonably quickly. The silvia seems to have a great reputation however I am undecided with the boiler size and risk of cooking it. Is this to be expected with virtually any machine under this price?

Appreciate any help at all as I am new to the world of espresso.

Cheers,
    Aaron

Re: Advice please.

Hi Aaron

Have a look at the Lelit, they might fit the bill, they seem to do better than the Silvias.

ETA: In line with CJs comments I should add that I havent used either and Im just going on the research Ive done looking at machines* :)* I would drive to Sydney find someone that has both machines and ask to try both and then see which one you like better.* Jetblack have both and they are the closest to drive to from here :)

Caffeine Junky

Hi Aaron.* I think the Breville grind is a good choice.

With regards to machines I believe there are only 3 you should consider:

Lelit PL041
    Rancilio Silvia
    GEE (just over budget)

The Lelit & Silvia are pretty similar machines with respect to design and use and I have owned both.* Personally Id go for the Silvia.* Small price difference, better build, commercial group and better resale.

The GEE is a completely different beast. More plastic compared to the Silvia but larger boiler and separate thermoblock for steam.* Also has PID temperature control and adjustable preinfusion.* It really doesnt have a peer.