Thread: EM6910 dry puck?

EM6910 dry puck?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I have been using an EM6910 for the last 2 months and am pretty happy with it. However, the puck is never dry after a shot, which makes me wonder whether Im doing something wrong. Ive played around with dose, grind and tamping pressure a bit but it doesnt make any difference.
    Ive also noticed that a bit of water come through the grouphead after the shot switches off (either uisng the manual or the single shot button), so Im wondering if this could be the problem. If so, is this a leak that needs repairing?
    As a newbie, I look forward to your help.

Re: EM6910 dry puck?

Welcome to Coffee Snobs.

I know you said youve played with the grind but it sounds like too fine a grind to me.

If you leave the PF attached while you are frothing the milk you sometimes get some water into the PF and it looks like a wet puck, otherwise as TG said you are probably grinding to fine. The water coming down after you have switched the pour off is just the residue left in the pipes from the pour. Unless it is substantial then it may be a problem. :-/

Thanks guys. If I grind any coarser, the shot pours much too quickly and the pressure gauge reads low. Do you suggest I compensate by increasing the dose and/or tamping harder?
    ( I do leave the PF attached while frothing; maybe I should check this first?)

What grinder are you using??

Sunbeam EM0480

I know numbers are only a guide bu8t I was grinding at about 12 - 15 for espresso depending on the bean. *

Have you checked how hard you are tamping on a scale?

Few questions
    1. What do you mean by " never dry". Does the puck come away from the PF cleanly & complete, or are you saying there is liquid on top.
    2. Do you hear the pressure discharge (into the drip tray) when you stop the brew ? i.e. is the pressure release valve working.