Thread: Taming Ms Silvia

Taming Ms Silvia

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Okay, Im a newbie to the Rancilio Ms Silvia but not new to making a decent shot of espresso.

My problem is I cant seem to get a good shot from my new Silvia. Yep, strange as that might sound. The shot lacks crema, aroma and a decent taste, and the puck is watery too. Ive tried all different grinder settings, but that elusive thick luster crema, aroma and taste just arent there. :-[

Now, just to put things in perspective my old Sunbeam Cafe Crema EM4800 (2002 model) just canes the Silvia in both taste, aroma and crema on pulling the same coffee grinds.

Obviously Im doing something wrong as the Silvia is supposed to be one of the better manual domestic machine out there. Any suggestions on what to try are most welcome.
    Oh, and before you ask - yes I have read the instructions - several times.

Re: Taming Ms Silvia

Welcome to Coffee Snobs.

What coffee are you using and are you sure its fresh?
    Which grinder do you have?

Yes, the coffee is fresh - always is *;D. *Same bag Ive just been using with the EM4800.
    The grind has a nice fresh aroma and I only grind just minutes before the pour. *I only put enough beans in the hopper to last the day. *The beans are in a resealable bag and stored in the refridgerator

The grinder is a Gaggia MDF/B.

Just put the old EM4800 machine back on the kitchen bench and pulled an espresso from it. *No problems. *;) *So it puts the problem back onto the Silvia or quite possibly the monkey driving it doesnt it? * :(

Its most likely Im doing something wrong, but I just cant figure what. *:-[

Does anyone know of a good site with useful tips on the Silvia?