Thread: Gaggia Classic Soleniod Valve Stuck?

Gaggia Classic Soleniod Valve Stuck?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi

Im a newbie here so please bear with me for my first post!! I have a Gaggia Classic which for the last 5 years or so has been making great coffee for me however we recently moved to Perth, WA and after only a few cups the brew flow ran down to a trickle and then no more. When the brew switch is on water runs straight back through the overflow pipe into the water container. It does produce steam and I can get water to run out of the steam wand by having the steam and brew switches on at the same time. My Classic has the solenoid valve and I am unsure if this can be backflushed and if it can I am not sure that would work as I am getting no water flow through the brewhead at all :(.

After searching the threads here I not been able to establish whether this is an easy fix or whether I need to take it to get it serviced. I have descaled the unit and got quite a lot of scale out but it has made no difference. A lot of the other posts on this subject make reference to the older versions of the Classic that have an accessible valve :-?.

Would I be able to backflush even if I am getting no flow through the brewhead?

thanks!

Marty

DONT USE

Re: Gaggia Classic Soleniod Valve Stuck?

hi marty
    welcome to snobs

could be blocked coffee valve or blocked 3 way solenoid

remove the shower plate (phillips screw)
    remove brass water distributor (allen key)
    remove the coffee valve (socket)
    sounds like the coffee valve is stuck up with gunge, might be able to soak in coffee cleaner and loosen(if not will have to be replaced)

cant descale or backflush until you have water flow through the group

Quote Originally Posted by fix link=1230965082/0#1 date=1230970319
    hi marty
    welcome to snobs

could be blocked coffee valve or blocked 3 way solenoid

remove the shower plate (phillips screw)