Thread: Isomac Venus - Does it need a PID?

Isomac Venus - Does it need a PID?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I have seen the Venus and Silvia talked about in the same breath and I was wondering whether the Venus has the same temperature variation issues as the Silvia? Does it also require a PID for consistent quality? Does temperature surfing need to be employed? Is anyone running a PID on their Venus? If so, how have you found the performance?

I am looking at options for a shallow bench space which rules out e61 machines. Depth is the problem, otherwise I would be shooting for a Piccolo/Zaffiro etc.! Thinking of going down the Silvia route, but like the aesthetics of the Venus.

Can anyone help? Thanks, C.

Re: Isomac Venus - Does it need a PID?

I will be following this thread with interest, as moving from a Silvia to a Venus is one of the upgrade options I am considering.
    First I have no experience with the Venus so if anyone wishes to correct me please feel free.
    I was wondering whether the Venus has the same temperature variation issues as the Silvia?
    They both use similar thermostats, on the Silvia its on at 90 degrees and off at 110 degrees temp keeps going up to 124 degrees, Venus has a larger boiler and the element has a bit more wattage, I would expect a similar temp swing.
    Does it also require a PID for consistent quality?
    This is where it gets interesting, the larger boiler with the brew group directly mounted beneath makes a nice thermostable design. With a PID it should easily beat a PIDd Silvia.
    I should point out Isomac have fitted the Venus with the OPV valve on the boiler so it bleeds hot water back to the tank. The mod to fix it is to fit a *OPV between pump and boiler, not a deal breaker for me.