Thread: New user and owner of a CM with a few questions

New user and owner of a CM with a few questions

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello people! Im new here, so go easy :)

Quick bit about me, im a chef who loves coffee and until recently was allowed 2 per day at work. Management has now said no more to our dissapointment (My kitchenhand makes the best brew i have ever tasted, much better that the cafe staff) we are no longer allowed.

I went out and bought a Breville bes860 with a built in grinder (i KNOW..... ive done my fair share of reading through the forums, and considered the gaggia, and the sunbeam, but this is what suited me best) and have gone through 750g of the free beans in 24 hours. I swear i had a dodgy machine, but im starting to get the results im after. Had a few questions that i thought you coffee pros out there could maybe help me with.

For the first 20 or so cups, the pressure needle would always peak and i would get only drips. After a lot of playing around i thought, ill start at the bottom. So i did the smallest dose, and the coarsest grind, and barely tamped at all. Same result....
    So i tried the double wall filter.... perfect... the gauge would sit right in the center. Now... how?!? I dont understand how a filter with one tiny hole could possibly require less pressure than a filter with many, and without tamping?
    The other problem was the machine would only push through about 15-18 mls of liquid in its default setting. That was eventually fixed by manually programing it.
    Note, im talking about using a single filter. When i use the double, i get much more consistant results. Why is this? Is it because there are simply more holes or that pressing the double cup button generates more pressure?