Thread: Newbie here - over extracting 6910/450

Newbie here - over extracting 6910/450

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    GDay all, I have just discovered this great site and thus made my world into (entry level) coffee making. Ive been making expresso for years but with cheap machines so I have bitten the bullet and bought the sunbeam combo 6910/450 which was all I could afford.

Today was the first real "run" with new beans from Danes and wow, what a difference! It actually looked like expresso and tasted amazingly different. That said, I seem to be over extracting. Now the 450 guide says 12-16 is a good grind for expresso but Im at 20 and its still overdoing it. Obviously its a trial and error thing but Id love some help/suggestions re how I should start improving and or what grinder settings seemed to work for others (so I can work out whatIm doing wrong/right). Actually, any help at all would be good!

A_M

Re: Newbie here - over extracting 6910/450

Quote Originally Posted by 202924314B0 link=1254200235/0#0 date=1254200235
    GDay all, I have just discovered this great site and thus made my world into (entry level) coffee making. *Ive been making expresso for years but with cheap machines so I have bitten the bullet and bought the sunbeam combo 6910/450 which was all I could afford. *

Today was the first real "run" with new beans from Danes and wow, what a difference! *It actually looked like expresso and tasted amazingly different. *That said, I seem to be over extracting. *Now the 450 guide says 12-16 is a good grind for expresso but Im at 20 and its still overdoing it. *Obviously its a trial and error thing but Id love some help/suggestions re how I should start improving and or what grinder settings seemed to work for others (so I can work out whatIm doing wrong/right). * Actually, any help at all would be good! *
    Update ya profile with ya location and then do a search of CS..