Thread: Newbie Question on Rancilio V3

Newbie Question on Rancilio V3

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi Guys,

I recently purchased a V3 and had a question on usage.

I am trying to minimise the time between pulling the shot and the time it takes for the boiler to get the steam ready.

Basically, I heat up the machine and pull the shot. *Then I hit the Steam button and wait for the light to go off. *This seems to take a while (especially when you are standing over it).

I was wondering if you have any tips on how I may be able to get it happening quicker ? *I have tried to heat the pump, them hit the steam switch until the boiler goes off, then pull the shot, but I noticed that steam comes out from the group head when pulling the shot so I figured its not a good idea.

All tips welcome as I am a newbie !

Thanks!

Re: Newbie Question on Rancilio V3

Dont wait for the light to go off. The idea is to start steaming just before it goes out so the element maintains the best steam pressure for you. To start with time how long it takes for the light to go off once you know the time you can commence steaming a bit before. Dont forget to release water to create headspace.
    Have a read of the Id really like to PID my Silvia thread at the start of this section, displaying the temp makes steaming easy, you still have to wait for it though.

Thanks. I do release the water first, just feels like ages whilst waiting for the steamer.

I will have a read of that thread, thanks.

I was hoping for an easy answer, but sounds like i need to become patient :)

Caffeine Junky

I sense upgraditis to a HX machine setting in already....

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia

Quote Originally Posted by 5E5F5546585D47340 link=1269773454/3#3 date=1269775956
    I sense upgraditis to a HX machine setting in already....
    Your evil CJ ;D

Caffeine Junky

You dont know the half of it :D