Thread: Too many choices, please help!

Too many choices, please help!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

I am going to buy a coffee machine as a present but i have little knowledge about coffee machine machanism. There are lots of information i have to read through in here before i can make a quick decision so i hope you could give me suggestions.

I am looking at:
    - under $700 or preferably under $600
    - must have a decent steam wand frothing good milk
    - not a heavy coffee drinker, about 1-3 coffees daily
    - personally dont have very good impression in Sunbeam so please try not recommending Sunbeam

Was having Breville BES860 in mind because the grinder is integrated and with david jones having discount. However it seems to me making my own combo might be better. I have also read good reviews with Saeco Via Venezia or some other Brevilles machine (e.g. Ikon, BES 820, 800ES, etc) *

I am very bad at decision making so please assist!

P.S. I understand a lot of people would do modifications to the machine (eg the handle/group head/portafilter). It would be great if i could get some suggested modification ideas from here too so I am aware of the possible issues of the machine.

Thank you muchly!

Re: Too many choices, please help!

Welcome Waterdroplet

What about the person you are going to buy the present for? What is their coffee knowledge?

You could try the Breville but I dont necessarily agree that these are any better than Sunbeam.

For your budget, I would seriously consider a Sorrentina Atomic. At $450 there would be enough change from $700 to get a grinder.