Thread: Nuova Simonelli Oscar Problems

Nuova Simonelli Oscar Problems

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,
    Hoping for some help. I have an Oscar that developed a high temp problem that appeared to be a pressure valve failure. However, the valve was replaced but the machine wont push water through the coffee when the machine is hot unless you use a very coarse grind. It pushes the water through fine when cold....any ideas?
    The local service guy has run out of ideas but he is not a pro service guy just a coffe roaster mainly. No other service people local here in the northern rivers of NSW.
    Cheers,
    Wayne

Re: Nuova Simonelli Oscar Problems

My guess is that it is running too hot and that the machine is getting an air block from the steam in the HX which means the pump can never build up the pressure it should. *Im no expert though so that would be my guess. *Ive found that if I let my water resevoir run dry it will let a small amount of air into the circuit and unless I bleed that out the pump wont get to full pressure.

Try giving the machine a really long cooling flush before pulling a shot. *See if that makes any difference. *My guess is that you need a new pressure stat(or perhaps just an adjustment). *If that is the case I would be reluctant to run the machine much as it would be running way too hot.

Hi, Thanks for the reply firstly! The U-Tube vision is exactly what it was doing before I took in. He diagnosed a faulty pressure valve and replaced that but it wont pull a shot now. Ill take this info to him and see what he say!
    Cheers,
    Wayne

I take it you saw the solution in the comments?

Hi Wayne,