Thread: Trouble locking in Silvia Portafilter

Trouble locking in Silvia Portafilter

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, sorry for asking a noob question, I have no prior experience with espresso machines. Recently bought a Silvia/Rocky combo from a sponsor, and Im having trouble locking in the portafilter :o !

I find that after dosing and tamping, Im unable to easily lock in the PF. To stop the Silvia from sliding around on the bench while loading the PF, I have to really hold the machine down with my left hand and push the PF hard against the brew head. And sometimes still unable to lock it in at all! It seems so easy on those videos from youtube... Does this mean Im overdosing big time?!

My dosing routine:
    Grind setting is at 7
    Grind & load the double basket until almost full.
    Tap on the tamping mat a few times to collapse.
    Grind more & slightly overfill.
    Level off with the back of a knife.
    Tamp. I try to keep 10~15kg pressure (checked on bathroom scale)

If Im able to load the PF, I usually pull 60ml in 25~30 seconds. However, the shots are usually sour.
    The coffee is Chumpy from St. Ali, roasted 7 days ago, kept in airtight jar.
    Machine warmed up for at least 30 minutes. I temp surf by waiting 30 sec after the boiler light goes off, then hit the brew switch.
    The spent puck is slightly moist (but no pooling of water) with deep imprint of the hexagonal nut in the center and shallow imprint of the shower screen near the edge. Theres no fracture in the puck and it retains its shape.

After searching the forum, I suspected the main reason for sour shots is me overdosing, forming cracks while I struggle to lock in the PF, hence channeling. But I dont see any cracks in the spent puck?