Thread: To buy new or second hand

To buy new or second hand

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi folks,
    newbie here looking for some advice.
    Im actually bidding on Ebay for a second hand gaggia Classic at the moment, but I can buy a new one for $559 delivered, is that a good price and would this machine suit a Coffee newbie like myself.

Great site btw. :)

Re: To buy new or second hand

Sorry for the double post Bigpond is so slow tonight I didnt think my post had gone through ... :-[

TC

Quote Originally Posted by 72585F45506E7A5E4158310 link=1305027814/0#0 date=1305027814
    Hi folks,
    newbie here looking for some advice.
    Im actually bidding on Ebay for a second hand gaggia Classic at the moment, but I can buy a new one for $559 delivered, is that a good price and* would this machine suit a Coffee newbie like myself.

Great site btw.* :)
    Hi cinta and welcome,

My opinion is that a brand new Lelit PL041 for $620 or thereabouts represents much better value.

Have a read here and do some research before you make a final decision.

Hahaha .. I suspected that someone might recommend a different brand and confuse me even more... ;D
    it actually looks sturdier from the picture.
    I guess what I really need to do is find somewhere to try the different machines out ...
    Thanks for taking the time to reply, much obliged for the feedback ...

$559 for a new gaggia, depends on how much the ebay one goes for, and what value you put on money. Typically Ebay stuff goes for 1/2 new price or less depending on size and age. Track a few listings and see what they go for and condition. So $1200 used for a $2500 if new machine (eg giotto) saves you $1200, but $250 for a $500 machine only saves you $250. If the saving isnt big enough, buy new. The cost of new seals, etc can soon eclipse the savings on entry level machines, whereas the cost of new seals on a top end machine are insignificant comapred to the value fo the machine.