Thread: ~$600 Manual machine - confirm my decision!

~$600 Manual machine - confirm my decision!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Looking to get a coffee machine for my girlfriend as a birthday present.

Ive done a tonne of research - Im fairly new to espresso myself so I would just like to get some backup from the more experienced.

Some background info:

• She already has a Sunbeam EM0480 which was a past present - shell want to stick to this grinder until it dies for sentimental reasons.
    • We currently use a plunger.
    • We like to try out freshly roasted local beans and always restock every week or two.
      She probably wont be using this machine to make her morning coffee as shes generally up quite early and rushed, so she typically grinds and brews a plunger full and puts it into a thermos to take to work (shes a Nurse)
    • She enjoys the idea of coffee and trying out different beans - so Im confident a manual espresso machine will be fun for her to use and play with.
    • Shell like experimenting with the tools she has, however I doubt shell be into researching different components / mods / upgrades for the machine.
    • She wont be so hardcore that shell be looking to get 100% perfect brews and pursue all sorts of means to get it - shell be happy with the process of making an espresso from fresh beans and getting it nice enough.*
    • This is a present so I want something that is reliable, simple and fixable - she will want to keep it for a long time and will be reluctant to upgrade again for sentimental reasons - shes like that :)
    • Dont really want to spend too much more than $600.
    • Im a very electrically / mechanically apt person so I dont mind getting in there and fixing/modding if things to go wrong.* First thoughts are to use my Dads metal lathe to machine her up a nice tamper.