Thread: My fisrt espresso machine and grinder

My fisrt espresso machine and grinder

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Been reading a lot about coffee, grinders and* machines for the last few weeks. Many thanks to all of you for this wealth of information. :)

Ive been using a plunger and a* stove stop for a few years now and recently bought a Bellman (CX25P) - but now I think I am ready to buy* a proper manual espresso machine and a suitable grinder. I havent really set a budget as yet but the max would be around $1500 to $2000 for both grinder and the machine. Consumption would be 1 to 2 shots everyday and occasional more shots when visitors arrive.

After a considerable thought I have narrowed down my choices for these below....

Mazzer mini ( doser or doserless)
    Compak k3 touch

Sylvia
    Oscar
    Lusso

My questions are,

1. Am I on the right track to get a better espresso shot than my bellman stove top?
    2. Any sponsors on the eastern side of Melb or in the city so I can see demo of these machines ?
    3. Learning curve compared with Sylvia and Lusso ?

Other suggestions and comments?

Thanks* :)

Caffeine Junky

Re: My fisrt espresso machine and grinder

Hi booffa, good luck with your next step.

Its interesting that the 3 machines you have narrowed it down to couldnt really be more different.

One question is do you drink mostly black or milk-based drinks?

I own an Oscar and have previously owned a Silvia. I have never used a Lusso but have read a lot about them as I have seriously considered buying one.

Briefly I would rate them like this:

Oscar - Entry level HX machine. Cheaper than other HX machines because of plastic exterior. Internal components still of high quality. Best option if making lots of milk-based drinks is important i.e. more than 2 at a time. Much more steam power than a Silvia.