Thread: 6910 - How good compared to a Giotto Rocket?

6910 - How good compared to a Giotto Rocket?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All,

I have previously had use of a Giotto Rocket which I loved and I had consistently good shots. I moved and I grabbed a 6910 (second hand) and I was wondering how good a shot I can expect to get compared to my old machine? The reputation of the 6910 is there but obviously a different level of machine compared to a Giotto. I have had a quick play and I must say Iím nowhere near getting it right. Iím just trying to workout what result to expect (compared to the Giotto) so I can judge if this machine is behaving correctly (being second-hand). I am using a Doge 63 that I have never used before so in combination Iím using a lot of beans trying to balance this beast. I will be getting an em0480 shortly which will make it easier to balance and cheaper (doserless Ė less wastage)

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Cheers Bryan

Re: 6910 - How good compared to a Giotto Rocket?

I have both, having moved in the opposite direction!

It is absolutely possible to get a great and consistant cup out of the em6910. Not as good as the Rocket which I put down to the pulstating pump as the Sunbeam has superb temp consistancy.

The trick to the Sunbeam is located here: http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1293457924/new

I asked for help here on CS and the brilliant advice I recieved took my coffee making to a new level.

In summary: Buy a great grinder, use around 20g of coffee carefully measured (I weigh my beans), tamp the coffee firmly so that the 5c test applies (a 5c coin on the tampped coffee will be slightly indented into the coffee when the handle is inserted into the machine), 25-30 sec pour.

You can fiddle with brew and steam wettness too, most advise to max out everything.

Quote Originally Posted by 425A59595A3B0 link=1310082995/0#0 date=1310082995
    (doserless Ė less wastage)