Thread: EM6900 Purchased on Ebay and Im a noob (so much win)

EM6900 Purchased on Ebay and Im a noob (so much win)

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Yeah OK - get it out of the way then!

Now youre finished laughing Ill post my experience with a few questions for the EM69XX gurus in here...

I scored an EM6900 on Ebay, type 619 stamped into back, which supposedly had a new group head collar and seal fitted. Bulldust! Photo newb1 shows a point on the collar where lip looks folded over which makes it hard to seat the portafilter and makes the portafilter chafe the living whatsit out of the collar.

So I decided to pull the whole thing apart following guidelines here and elsewhere and I dutifully inserted my no.12 on the inner filter nut and yippee - it sheared off with what I assume is the thread left in the thermoblock :( So now my nut looks like newb3 when its supposed to look like newb2.

On top of that Ive read many times on here about poor sealing spraying coffee through the machine and as you can see from newb4 and newb5 it certainly DOES. So anyone who has an EM69XX and a leaky group head you might want to stop and get that fixed - Im guessing the mentions of failed control boards (which live downstream of the thermoblock) are caused directly by this problem!?

Additional:

The seal was split and couldnt have been new (looked compressed)
    The seal had a nylon spacer behind it
    I have been getting far superior coffees to the EM4800 I had before but the puck was mostly sloppy
    The group head did leak water
    I probably need to practice my dosing and tamping when I get operational again (if I survive the wait)

So my questions:

1. Do I need a new collar? If not can someone PLEASE tell me where I can find the mod instructions for it as Ive searched for "dremel" and "lug mods" and heaps of other things but I only end up getting heaps of messages which refer to the mod instead of showing it.