Thread: Silvia and Auber PID pre-infusion option

Silvia and Auber PID pre-infusion option

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I am considering a purchase of one of the various versions of the Auber PID with the
    pre-infusion option. I have read 1+ years of posts on the PID and can't find any mention of the
    importance of automatically timing the pull. I have been using Silvia for 2 years without
    a PID (I temp surf). I start a timer when I hit the brew button and time the pull based
    on the appearance of the shot. It usually lasts between 21 and 26 seconds.

I like the idea of using the pre-infusion option to time the duration of the pull.
    Will I be happy with a more consistent duration? Or do most of you still stop the pull
    when it "looks right"?

Also, I am not excited about preinfusing my puck (I would set that time delay to 0). Should I be?

Thanks
    captainkirk
    Pittsburgh, PA

With that PID, you still have the option of manually pulling a shot using the hot water switch on the Silvia - so you can continue to pull it how you do now. I still do this depending on the beans I use.

If you don't want the preinfusion option, you can opt for one of the PIDs without it and save a bit of money. The preinfusion function and the shot timer are independent variables. You can just use the PID to keep temperature.

Quote Originally Posted by captainkirk View Post
    can't find any mention of the
    importance of automatically timing the pull. I have been using Silvia for 2 years without
    a PID (I temp surf). I start a timer when I hit the brew button and time the pull based
    on the appearance of the shot. It usually lasts between 21 and 26 seconds.
    When you're making coffee now are there times when you realised you've forgotten to do something and want to move away from the machine whilst it is pouring?