Thread: Lelit: To PID or not to PID, that is the question!

Lelit: To PID or not to PID, that is the question!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello CS'ers

I'm a newbie, but I have been lurking around here as a "guest" doing research for at least a good month.

I have decided to join the home barista movement when I found myself plotting how to drop my kids off earlier to their care so that I could get a decent latte and still make it to work on time! I knew that I did not want a pod machine, mainly due to the waste they produce, so a proper espresso machine it is. I also have the added benefit of having a coffee roasting business just two doors down from me, so fresh beans are not a problem at all.

I was told to get a Silvia by people who know about these things and that is how I ended up here, doing research on them. They have been my main focus until recently when I came across a post here (somewhere!) about Lelit being very similar but a little more forgiving for a beginner. Of course I have done my research into them as well and from what I have found I think that they might be a better option for me, being a complete beginner and all.

The budget for this is not huge ($1000 max), I will be the only one drinking coffee based drinks (and I love my milk based drinks hence the need for good steaming ability) and the kids will be most chuffed to get some hot chocolates for their breakfast. I am able to get a new rocky grinder with frequent flyer points (so more money for the machine yay!).