Thread: Vibiemme Piccolo Vs Electro Microcasa semi

ejg

Vibiemme Piccolo Vs Electro Microcasa semi

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey guys,

I've had a secondhand em6910 and using a Sunbeam em0480.

I'm looking to upgrade to most likely another secondhand machine....

If anyone has had experience with either or both of these machines I'd love their take on them.

I'm planning to upgrade my grinder as well so don't worry.

The things I make most are espresso and Latte.

I make low volume amounts of coffee so am looking for something that won't be used that much but will last a long time.

Thanks

Hi EJG

I have no experience with the VBM but do have a micro casa semi. Comparison wise, i cannot help, but am happy to share experiences with the MC semi.

Physical:
    Overall, I am very happy with the machine. It is now a couple of years old and has been faultless. Mine is copper/brass, so finger prints and scratches do show up more readily than the chromed model, but that doesn't bother me. The machine has an exposed boiler and the steam wand is not cool touch, they both get hot. I have not burnt myself, but I was cautious the first couple of weeks ... the machine doesn't radiate a lot of heat. The porta-filter is heavy and well made, and the machine always attracts attention.

Performance:
    Steam performance is more than adequate.
    Brew and extraction quality is excellent ... there is some discussion which refers to the MC Semi not coping well with over dosing, and I believe this is correct ... the occasional damp puck can be experienced, but this seems to have little effect on extraction.
    I generally leave the machine for twenty minutes to warm up, and bleed off some steam after about ten minutes ...
    Large mugs will struggle to fit under the PF.

Value:
    Some say it's expensive, to me the value is in the performance, and the performance is superb.