Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By gonzob
  • 2 Post By Yelta

Thread: Silvia with a Precision basket - a new woman!

Silvia with a Precision basket - a new woman!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Well, I'm surprised.

I 've had Miss (PID'd) Silvia for a while now and have been using an 18g Synesso basket. I've had a Sunbeam 4050 grinder, followed by a Breville SG, and now a Baratza Preciso. I recently read a couple of threads here which mentioned the Precision basket. It's not expensive, so I bought one. I have to say the service/delivery was excellent, but that was nothing compared to the difference in brewing performance.

It took me a while dial in the settings, and I'm still learning, but the key thing for me with this basket is that it seems to smooth out all the other variables. I can now produce much more repeatable results, and see the difference between small changes in grind/qty/tamp. The previous results were more haphazard, and consequently infuriating.

The most significant change is that I needed to back off the grinder quite a few notches. I previously thought that the basket was pretty much a strainer to keep the grinds out of the cup (well, maybe a bit more than that, but you get the idea), and that the grind was a separate variable. I was wrong.

So, I'm pleased with my new woman. I hope SWMBO doesn't read this.

Gonzo.
    TC and smokey like this.

Great stuff Gonzo, as you have no doubt read in other threads I'm quite a fan of Precision baskets, easy to use, excellent results in the cup and reasonably priced.
    Never used Synesso so cant comment.

Which one fits to Silvia? They have two sizes there -double 14-18g and triple 18-21g.
    I am thinking about the triple one but not sure whether it will fit into Silvia's portafilter.

The Precision basket I bought was a 14-18 gram double. It fits in the standard Silvia portafilter.