Like Tree14Likes
  • 1 Post By Yelta
  • 10 Post By chokkidog
  • 3 Post By freogirl

Thread: Any advice on best machine for me..

Any advice on best machine for me..

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I'm a newbie here, and a newbie to coffee machines. I've never owned a decent machine. I currently have a Nespresso pod machine (received as a gift) and don't use it much as I don't like the coffee. I am looking for a mid-range up to $1,500 and would really appreciate any advice from the experts. After reading various threads I thought that perhaps the Breville dual boiler would be good, but I'm concerned about its size - I have fairly limited amount of bench space. I've looked everywhere online trying to find out the actual measurements of the machine but can't find them, even on the breville website. Anyone with a BES900 or 920 who could tell me the w x d x h I'd appreciate it.

I don't drink milk, I never make latte or cappucini except maybe once in a while for friends. I'm a long black drinker, no milk, no sugar.

Does anyone have any recommendations on a decent machine for me with a reasonable footprint. Brewing coffee and frothing milk at the same time isn't the issue for me. I just want a decent coffee.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Love our Sunbeam EM7000: 29cm x 36cm x 34 cm (H)...have seen them for under $730, way under RRP. Good luck, Ray

If you're only going to do milk every now and then, I would say that the dual boiler is overkill.
    I would suggest something in the category of the Rancilio Silvia. Dimensions are 235x290x340 mm according to Coffeeparts.

I'm sure there are others in the single boiler category that would also fit the bill, but I have only had personal experience with the Silvia. It was a great machine for a few years to us and got sold when we upgraded to a dual boiler (we DO drink lattes).

Brett.