Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TOK

Thread: HX machine problems- Brugnetti

HX machine problems- Brugnetti

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi al
    I`m feeling like a complete beginner. I have just purchased a used Brugnetti Simona top machine to replace my Sunbeam EM 6910. It has become apparent that its functionality is far different to the EM6910. I`ve adjust grind & tamp pressures but it all just coming out like crap. Slow pours and it tastes bitter I`ve ground fine and coarse but still no good. Can some explain cooling flush, i`m thinking maybe this is the issue, is this no knock the steam out of the pour before it starts? Any help & tips would be appreciated. Also about every 20min the pump start and runs for about 5sec is this just topping up the boiler.
    Rob

I would recommend reading "how I stopped worrying and learnt to love HXs" as a starting guide. Yes, you need to do a cooling flush. There are two methods: long flush, dose and go; or short flush and go immediately.

The pump automatically refills the boiler in cases where water is removed i.e. after steaming, but if it is sitting idle I don't think it should need to. Also, as a guide what is the range of pressure in your boiler?

Well thats all I know, someone who has mastered the art of HX might want to give their two cents.

Read the article and I think it makes sense. The pressure in the boiler when idle cycles between 1.4-1.5. As for the pump coming on when idle it has not done that today. I did only get the machine yesterday so hard to say if it happens all the time.

If you haven't already it might also help to do a chemical backflush. I've found with some old machines when users don't backflush with detergent (i.e. cafetto) the shots suffer. 1.4-1.5 sounds high but this depends on the machine. Perhaps the Brungetti has a short path through the HX and compensates with a higher temp boiler?

It appears that Brugnetti factory settings are way too high.