Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: $1k combo - my first and last chance

$1k combo - my first and last chance

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all.

I'm new to the game, currently playing around with a Saeco Via Venezia and a Delonghi KG59 grinder which I took from my folks to experiment with. The Saeco is on it's last legs it seems, it was left unused for a looong time so it wasn't in the best condition to begin with (rust and leaks) and the grinder is next to useless. So I was hoping you could help me find a new combo.

I call it my first and last chance because I've finally convinced the wife that we need a new machine and grinder. We come from a Nespresso background which I grew out of and she wants to buy another Nespresso machine so it's been tough convincing her that I need about $1k to buy a new espresso machine + grinder + a few accessories so unfortunately $1k is the absolute limit, there is no such chance of squeezing out another 100 bux to get the next level up. The budget has actually risen from $300 (Nespresso) in small steps all the way up to $1k which is why there's no room to move, I simply cannot afford to spend any more!

And this is going to have to last me at least 2-3 years before I can replace one of them, either the machine or the grinder. I'm thinking from my research on this site, that I get a good grinder now that can last me a while and that it's the espresso machine that I should replace down the track. This also means that I don't want to buy second hand gear cos if it breaks shortly after I purchase it, I'll probably be drinking instant coffee for the rest of my life! At least new gear will have a 12 month warranty. I simply cannot afford the risk of buying second hand.