Thread: Two sunbeams back to the shop

Two sunbeams back to the shop

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    The Good Guys had a special this week on EM6910s with grinder for just $549.00 so I decided to jump in.

I've been using a 6910 for 8 years now and have it pretty well mastered in terms of producing a decent shot and texturing great milk.

Well... I'm not sure what happened this week but I sent both of then back and got a refund.

Both machines had trouble texturing milk. The steam wand is powerful, but it spluttered a number of times in the texturing process rather than giving a steady flow.

That ended up with bubbles rather than smooth milk. Both machines did the same thing. If you didn't know how to texture milk you'd think it was acceptable. But it's not...

The Good Guys were very good in accepting it back. I had to demonstrate the fault to them as they didn't really 'get' the issue. (It was hot and pumping so it was all good as best they knew...)

I also didn't like the new grinders that didn't have the on/off button. They splattered a lot of coffee grounds around.

Right now I'm using the coffee machine out of my caravan until I work out where to next!

Pretty disappointing that the em6910 couldn't cut it.

Don't know if it is still going but Harvey Norman had a special on EM7000's for $400 during the week.

Will check it out - that would be cool

Rbn
    Quote Originally Posted by hamo View Post
    The steam wand is powerful, but it spluttered a number of times in the texturing process rather than giving a steady flow.

Pretty disappointing that the em6910 couldn't cut it.
    Weird, I would have thought spluttering in the steam would have been water getting in and causing the "splutter", like happens when purging the wand before starting to steam.

Quote Originally Posted by rawill View Post