Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Robbks

Thread: EM7000 - After 7 years I just found out I'm a newb

EM7000 - After 7 years I just found out I'm a newb

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,
    I've been using sunbeam EM4800s for about seven years with results so pleasing I thought I knew what I was doing.
    I've got a Cuisinart burr grinder and I've been using Vittoria Nero beans from the supermarket - which have been great in the cheap machine.
    Today I realised the dream and upgraded to an EM7000 - Domayne were selling them can't ignore it cheap.
    I'm guessing my beans are way wrong for the new machine, but I am having heartbreaking failure so far.
    The pressure gauge is not even budging when I load up, although if I insert the cleaning disk it goes through the roof, so something is right...
    It doesnt move whether I tamp hard, soft, whether I underload or overload. With the one or two cup basket.
    I am getting coffee flavoured water and next to zero Crema. My puck is bone dry.
    Have I made a huge mistake? Am I way out of my depth? Is it me, the beans or my hardware?
    Any suggestions will help me sleep through the weekend, whilst I wait for a chance to call Sunbeam and cry into the phone.
    It feels like a really crappy coming of age drama.

Latte Lament
    Hi mate.
    There is a saying that the grinder is more important than the machine.
    To start I would get some fresh locally roasted beans from a cafe near you, instead if using old store coffee beans.
    Then if your grinder can be adjusted grind the beans finer and go again.
    You should also have two sets of baskets for your portafilter, if the above is not helping try using the pressurised baskets. It's the one with one hole at the bottom.
    If still no luck and for really great results, you may want to upgrade to the matching sunbeam conical burr grinder which will work great with your shiny new machine.