Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By TampIt
  • 1 Post By noidle22

Thread: Newbie looking at EM7000 or BES840

Question Newbie looking at EM7000 or BES840

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello All!

I am kind of new to all this and am looking to make my first entry (on a budget <=$1000). Would appreciate some advice.

At the moment am looking at either the Sunbeam EM7000 (have read the feedback thread and it seems some people have had a few issues, but for the most part is a decent machine)
    or
    the Breville BES840, I haven't found much around here on peoples experience (please point me in the right direction if I have missed anything) but from what I gather the thermocouple design is slightly better than the EM7000's thermoblock? However the EM7000 is a dual thermoblock so no delay between brew and steam, which is a plus.

So what I am really looking for is anyones experiences that would sway me toward one over the other, or anyones advice for a newbie like myself looking for a midrange machine.

Thanks in advance,

Tony

Hi Tony86.

Well, you've got to start somewhere, and this price range isn't so bad. One thing to watch for is that whatever machine you get, the performance will be greatly influenced by your grinder (also your beans, but you can change them reasonably easily). Read a lot in this forum, ask questions, and try to match them.

For myself, I have a Sunbeam EM7000, and I do like it. Mind you, I had a Sunbeam EM6910 for 5 1/2 years, and it was ok. The 7000 is a lot easier, less touchy, and produces more consistent shots. I've never really liked Breville, not too sure why.

Sorry this isn't much help, but good luck!

Hi Tony.

Firstly, how many drinks to you usually need to make
    and always milky, always black, or a combination.

I've had machines from both Sunbeam, Breville and now a good Italian brand.

Each have their pro's and con's but always depends on your usage.