• 2 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By Jezza1984
  • 1 Post By Yelta

Thread: Silvia shot help

Silvia shot help

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,
    i have just purchased myself a second hand v2 silvia and a new compak k3p
    i have little experience on this type of setup but I'm slowly getting the hang of it.
    i have managed to get a nice 30ml in 30 second shot down however my puk
    is still fairly wet! I have played around a bit but generally end up with
    an under/over extracted shot . I have not weighed the amount I put in the portifilter
    should I be doing this? Any help much appreciated cheers!

Every variable you leave to chance, leaves you in the dark.

Jezza1984,
    Welcome along to this great subject...coffee and it's making.
    Seems to me you have the opportunity to play with your new toys and get things back onto track.
    If your coffee puck is too wet ,you could ease off the tamping pressure,experiment and then experience the difference in output.
    You could have a play with your grinder perhaps,see what a finer/ coarser grind does.
    Some folk use a grinder and believe the settings should be perfect.....not always the case,try a range of settings.
    The resulting used coffee residue should be a compacted and dry(ish) cake,the pour should be a lovely honey drizzlely output with nice crema.
    Good beans may cost a lot however,polish up your settings/ technique and don't hesitate throwing some failed results into the dregs bin(makes good compost to).
    Keep us informed,always good to know when things "finally click" into proper place,so to speak!
    cheers,
    Mick.
    Last edited by mulquemi; 20th September 2015 at 08:42 PM. Reason: typo
    Dimal and sprezzatura like this.

Welcome "Jezza1984"...