Thread: Ponte Vecchio Export (Lever Machine) - First use

Ponte Vecchio Export (Lever Machine) - First use

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello guys,

A bit of a follow on from the other day after actually using my new machine. Let me start by saying that any coffee that i have made over the last 17 years is generally brewed is in a stove top percolator (cafetera), so i know that when it comes to machines i'm a complete rookie and wouldn't last a day in a coffee shop or espresso bar. So it may come as a suprise to most that i have jumped the traditional entry level machines like the Lelit, gaggia, ecm's etc and had my eyes set solely on a lever. My criteria was i wanted a machine with least components, to try and have a kit that would last me not years, but decades if maintained. I loved the look and philosophy behind the la pavoni's but was a little scared off with the talk of couple of shot wonders before potentially overheating, so after a bit of research decided on the PV Export.

Based on the short story above i actually got some time today to trial the machine. I was using some freshly roasted beans from my local roaster in Underwood Brisbane (Simply Beans). I was also fortunate to have installed a water filter in my kitchen, so starting off with some fresh filtered water, hopefully was a good move?.

Balancing the grind, amount....this was quite difficult for me as i had no idea where to start, amazing first setting wasn't too far away from where i ended up (after 10 attempts). I wanted to use a large shot glass so i could at least compare the crema against those on youtube, but alas i could not as i didnt have one, so had to settle with a 160ml latte looking ikea glass. I managed to get crema with all grinds with the noticeable changes is taste vs how long it actually lasted.