Thread: Rancilio Rocky/Silvia ? (Warning: Complete Newbie)

Rancilio Rocky/Silvia ? (Warning: Complete Newbie)

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    This is my first post, so go easy on me! :)

I owe dad a bit of money and hes been thinking of getting himself an espresso machine (hes only ever had the stove-tops), so I figured Id do a two-in-one and buy him the machine (and put it to good use of course ;)).

So, I decided to do some research... little did I realise... :o

The only espresso weve had at home is from the stove-top, so Im no connoisseur... I dont even insist on a particular coffee place in the Melbourne CBD when Im after a fix...

From what Ive read (and tried to get my head around) the Rancilio Silvia/Rocky combination is a safe bet

Being such a newbie;
    1) Should I buy a grinder/machine combo whichll be gentler on the hip-pocket and upgrade from there once we begin to understand and learn whats really involved in making a decent espresso?
    2) Or is the Rocky/Silvia combination a great and enduring platform from which we can learn?
    3) Or am I completely off track?! :-/

Re: Rancilio Rocky/Silvia ? (Warning: Complete New

Gday M,

My quick answers:

1) Get a platform that can make great espresso. There are a wide range of machines/grinders that cover that over a wide price range. I think if you went elchepo and reach the limits of the machine quickly you will be disappointed.

2) Yes without a doubt, but Silvia can be a finiky machine and will require some persistence. She and Rocky can deliver superb espresso. See 4

3) Depends on whether your dad wants an espresso machine. Sounds like you are spending his money for him here ;)

4) Will your dad be operating it? If so do you need a machine that your dad will find easy to use or is he likely to search for espresso Nirvana as well? Im going out on a limb here but the EM6910 would also be worth a thought as it may not have as steep a learning curve.

Cheers,

Matt