Thread: Re purging

Re purging

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Do I need to purge my sunbeam 6910 eveytime I start it up? I am completely new to this, already it has given me some new grey hairs.
    I really do appreciate any help/advice I can get :-[

Cheers

Re: Re purging

What do you mean by purge?

Like a cooling flush?

A small one just till the thermoblock stops spitting, usually after its been sitting for some time, is necessary to avoid burning the coffee.

The volume of the flush should be nowhere near whats necessary for a HX.

Thank you for the info, it is a great help

Dear dips,

I have a 6910 (just got it -- yay!).

Thats all I really wanted to say. Have a nice day!

Okay, Im just kidding. I will say more, but i am surprised to find this listed under the Entry level (sub $500) category. The machine retails for $699 (though few actually pay this much), and though i havent had mine long (a few days) i believe it is a class above most machines youd expect to get in the sub $500 category (eg. the cheaper Sunbeam and Breville models).
    Mods, shall we bump this thread up to the mid-range category?

Anyway, I purge my machine everytime I start and before pulling any shot. Just about 3 seconds worth. Not really sure why, except that i saw a video of someone doing that and ive read discussions about people whove programmed the 1 cup button to only last 3 seconds -- which I did too. Im thinking the rationale for doing it at start up is to remove any stale water that has been sitting in the pipes and group head. The subsequent flushes, before each next shot, is a lot easier to explain: it helps remove the used grounds from the shower screen.

But its a good question. Do we need to purge/flush every morning before making coffee? If it is done just to warm the group head, then its not necessary with this machine. The group head and pf get quite warm enough of their own doing.