Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By mistabarista
  • 1 Post By solace
  • 3 Post By JetBlack_Espresso

Thread: Help me choose my first machine

Question Help me choose my first machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone!

I have recently moved to the gold coast and NEED NEED NEED a coffee machine ASAP.
    I have been in hospo for around 10 years, the last two working as a barista, but have never needed a coffee machine at home as I always had great coffee at work.
    I am finishing my degree this year so may not return to the biz thus I need a coffee machine.... I've been totally spoilt and cannot afford a $7000 machine so I'm trying to find something to make my daily cuppa.

I drink lattes with 3-4 shots and my wife drinks the same, we drink about 3 cups each per morning.

My budget is $600 max (700 with grinder and jugs ect) but I'd like to spend as little as possible as I'm a broke student so I'm looking at 2nd hand machines, and obviously I'll have to settle for a single boiler.

As I've never had to choose a machine I'm a bit unsure about the tech specs and what they could or couldn't do for me.

I had a look at those Breville barista espresso things for around 650 but they have the grinder sitting directly above it....drying the beans ad they are pretty expensive for a single boiler.

here is what I'm looking at right now:

2nd hand Philips Saeco Via Venezia Barista + REVILE COFFEE GRINDER / TAMP / MILK JUG (200ish bucks on eBay)

2nd hand Gaga Classic Stainless Steel Coffee Machine (200ish bucks on eBay)

NEW Gaggia RI8525/08 Carezza Manual Espresso NEW (520 on eBay)

maybe I could spring for a NS oscar..... with that HX..... maybe if i found a 2nd hand one but all I see is new and that already breaks the bank without any kit.

what I'm asking is:

- is there any chance I'd do ok with the first two?

-any one have experience with these machines or recommendations for others or places to buy?