Like Tree7Likes
  • 3 Post By mathiar
  • 3 Post By JetBlack_Espresso
  • 1 Post By JetBlack_Espresso

Thread: Lelit Combi with PID review

Lelit Combi with PID review

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I've had this machine for about 2 months now and thought I'd give an honest opinion of it. I toyed around with getting a machine for the last few years. Recently a friend had bought this, ironically because I had suggested it last year. After using his for an afternoon at his house I was sold.

For some background, I worked as a barista in Vancouver for nearly 6 years before moving to Australia. Worked for the likes of 49th parallel and phil & sebastians, so I've got some experience. The guys at Jetblack Espresso were MORE than helpful.

Build Quality
    Solid. For a machine that was less than $1500 I am very impressed. Out of the box it was sturdy and the stainless steel gives it a very nice look on my counter top. The portafilter has a nice weight to it making it feel solid without being too heavy. I wish the handle was in a material that was a bit softer but its by no means a deal breaker. I want to try and find a flat bottom PF for this machine but so far it seems that does not exist (although to be fair I haven't tried that hard to look).

Speed

This is obviously the bit I was most concerned with but I have been incredibly impressed with it. I leave early in the mornings so was dreading the idea of getting up extra early to set it all up...
    From the moment I flick the switch on to the time it actually gets to a brewable temperature is less than 2-3 minutes. That being said, the initial startup has the temperature fluctuate at bit, it will go up to 102 then back down to 92 then eventually settle at 96 which is what I brew at. Really, this all still happens in less than 5min so what I do is turn it on, go brush my teeth, shower, dress etc. and by the time I come back its sitting perfectly at 96.