• 2 Post By Yelta
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By 338
  • 2 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By artman

Thread: Lelit PL41LEM backflush problems

Lelit PL41LEM backflush problems

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    This is my first ever proper machine requiring backflushes. A couple of times recently it has actually had a mini-explosion when starting the backflush process. The blind filter and holder were pushed out with force, completely shattering the latte glass which was underneath it to smithereens. Today it happened again (but luckily no latte glass underneath this time!!) Big sudden bang, scalding water going everywhere, and blind filter/holder pushed out with great force.
    The machine was nowhere near even the lowest of the recommended pressure range for normal brewing.
    This does not happen during brewing, only during the cleaning cycle.
    Since I am a beginner I am being quite tentative with the backflush process and this problem is making me even more tentative.
    Thanks for reading

Hi Pixel warrior, I have a pl41 and coincidentally just backflushed 10 minutes ago. Occasionally mine will leak a little from the gasket if I haven't wrenched the portafilter up tight enough. I am guessing that is the reason for the latte glass, which isn't required if the portafilter is mounted correctly. My suggestion is don't use your Pixie side but instead your inner Warrior side and wrench the portafilter handle end around about 2 cm further than you use for normal coffee making and see how that goes.

The pressure both instantaneous and constant is much higher with the blind filter, due to the release through a standard coffee filled portafilter.

Good luck and let us know how you go.
    Pixelwarrior likes this.

yep , agree with 338 above - will just be that the portafilter is not locked into position enough. Should be fine when round far enough.