• 2 Post By Yelta
  • 1 Post By Xanthine
  • 1 Post By Javaphile
  • 1 Post By Xanthine
  • 3 Post By kingmatt1965

Thread: EM6910 wet puck and gauge not working

EM6910 wet puck and gauge not working

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi apologies if this has been asked many times before but I am new to this and have done some searching and not really found a clear direct answer.

I have a EM6910 coffee machine which is fairly old as I have had it for years. I bought it new and it has worked well for ages.

Lately though, the puck is wet and the gauge does not work at all. I have descaled and cleaned the machine as best as possible following all the guidelines for cleaning the EM690.
    I have replaced the big seal for the grouphead.
    When I make a coffee, I pack the coffee grinds in nice and tight.
    When I grind the beans I have tried to make it as fine as possible.

But when I make coffee the gauge does not work and the puck is wet. The pressure seems to be fine but their is no creme.

Is there something else I can check?

Thanks for your help.

Let taste be your ultimate guide, not the quality of the puck. If the coffee tastes great then that is what matters.
    Assuming the Sunbeam is maintaining good temperature and you are using fresh beans ideally roasted with the last 2 weeks, you may need to play around with the dose and grind. If the puck is wet and sloppy, your dose may be too low. If the puck is wet on top, your grind may be too fine. No crema could be the result of old or poor quality beans or grind quality. What grinder are you using and how old is it? The burrs may be worn, producing a poor grind
    Can't advise on the pressure gauge. Try googling sunbeam 6910 gauge. It might also be time for a new machine? Appliance coffee machines aren't designed to last forever.
    Yelta likes this.

I agree with your thoughts Flynn, however for some reason a dry puck that knocks out cleanly is rather satisfying.