• 1 Post By Garrus
  • 1 Post By arcachon
  • 2 Post By Lyrebird
  • 2 Post By JerseyBean
  • 1 Post By Esky
  • 2 Post By WarrenK
  • 1 Post By WarrenK
  • 1 Post By TainePC

Thread: Absolute Newbie Looking For 1st Machine - HELP!!

Question Absolute Newbie Looking For 1st Machine - HELP!!

Hello All,

First time using a forum too so my apologies if I get all of this wrong!!

My needs are minimal as I will only be making 2, possibly max 3 coffees per day (latte and cappuccino). I don’t really think I should be going over $1000 given the use it will be getting (see below). Ideally around the $700-800 but I am open to the cost if it will give the taste and longevity I want.

I was originally going with the Breville Barista Express as it seemed pretty foolproof for a newbie like me and having tried one, I liked how it worked/the way things turned out. Then I started wondering how it compared to the Infuser and even the Duo Temp (because I had been advised to pick up as decent a grinder as possible before worrying about the coffee machine...which got me thinking about the capabilities of the built in Barista grinder. So, my shortlist then changed to those 3 Brevilles, with a separate grinder if needed (I had looked at the Breville Smart Grinder Pro which had some good reviews on YouTube and is currently on sale from $349 down to $199. At the moment, I am erring on the separate grinder, however, I am not sure how good the Infuser or Duo Temp are which brings me here after researching my options further. From a quick look through some of the forums on here the Rancilio Silvia is recommended a lot (is any particular version better than others or should be avoided?) and the Gaggia Classic is another I’ve seen recommended.

I am just super confused by the comments that there will be a need for a PID? (I told you I was a newbie). In all of my searches, I’ve heard of a PID but nothing about fitting them myself??