Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By herzog
  • 2 Post By Sidd

Thread: Too much sediments in my coffee from Breville DB !!!

Unhappy Too much sediments in my coffee from Breville DB !!!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I'm a newbie in coffee extraction. Purchased the Breville DB 920 with Smart Grinder (Dynamic Duo model) about 7-8 months back. I usually have 1 cup/ day.

Last 2-3 months I am noticing drastic deterioration of my coffee extraction. I am getting lots of sediments / scum on my coffee that really tastes & looks horrible.
    Seeking advise from the experts on what I could be doing wrong..

Please do refer to the link for photos: https://photos.app.goo.gl/udYkyaCzzDKAdKGE8

I cant understand why I am having so much sediments / scum.
    1) I clean my machine quite frequently using the cleaning tablets
    2) I clean my portafilter and basket after use as I thought sediments trapped in baskets may be the cause of it.
    3) I wipe the shower screen after every use.
    4) The coffee that I use is medium roast, on subscription and is fresh.
    5) I dose 20 gms on a VST 20gms basket and extract 20 gms in 25s approximately. The coffee as such tastes OK but initial sips are bitter because of the sediments. I have the same issue with Breville basket. Preinfusion 7s, Brew temp 92 degrees and Pressure 70%
    6) My Smart Grinder setting is between 18-20. If I go lower then flow reduces.
    7) Dose is controlled using Breville razor tool
    8) Froth my milk using thermometer to 55 degrees. Milk is A2 full cream.

I still cant understand where is the sediments / scum coming from.
    Any advise will be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
    Regards
    Sidd

20g dose / 20g yield from 20g VST in 25sec from a smart grinder and medium roast whatever that means....grind is probably way too fine.

Adjust grind coarser so that you get 60g from the 20g dose in 35 sec. Taste this, is it less bitter? Cleaner?