Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By JetBlack_Espresso

Thread: Any worthy competitors to the Breville BES920?

Any worthy competitors to the Breville BES920?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone,

A year ago I started the coffee venture and started very basic- just the Breville smart grinder with a Moccamaster machine. This time I would like to go for an espresso machine. I would ideally like a double boiler, but open to alternatives (and if someone could explain to the pros and cons to the DB vs a HX, that would be great as I am still a novice).

I wouldn't mind going a few hundred extra than the BES920 if necessary- but still need the budget under probably 1200- I know this restricts me. I'm also looking at the new Mignon Silenzio grinder- can someone tell me whether there is a criteria that needs to be met for "matching" a grinder to a machine? Anything to avoid etc?

Thanks for the advice!

I have HAd my silenzio for a week now. Compared to a smart grinder you will really notice the difference in noise levels! It is wonderful for single dosing (been single dosing monsoon malabar all week)and Retention is small for a grinder in this price point (2 grams or less)

if if I had my time again and I was set on buying an “appliance” espresso machine I would’ve gone the 920 instead of the oracle (grinder in my oracle is stuffed and it’s 10 months old hence why I’ve bought the silenzio)
    Last edited by Hughie; 29th October 2018 at 10:51 PM.

Thanks Hughie. Maybe I'm not finding all of the options but it's a bit of a surprise that from a price point, there seems to be a big jump from the 870/920 to other non Breville models? I have read that the oracle have reliability issues and I haven't seen a huge number of complaints about the 920 but nevertheless I do care about durability hence why I'm also looking at the silivia