Thread: BES860X not brewing a full shot

Unhappy BES860X not brewing a full shot

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi! I'm new to the espresso world as of a few weeks ago and am having a problem I could use your help with. I have a Breville BES860XL that I found at a yard sale for a great price. After giving it a thorough cleaning it worked great, although I did find a small piece missing from the white gasket the shower head seats against. (I've ordered a replacement gasket from Breville and am waiting for it to arrive.) Fast forward to this past weekend. My grandson wanted some coffee so I ground the beans and tried to brew a shot, but now it suddenly wasn't working right. The coffee would just start to come out of the portafilter spouts when the machine would suddenly click then stop brewing with only a part of an ounce of coffee done. This happened whether I chose a single or double shot. Pushing the brew button again would then give me the full amount of the shot but leave me with a soggy runny puck. This happened with both sizes of both the single and double wall filter baskets. The beans I used were from the can of sacrificial beans I'd bought to clean the grinder, so not the best but they hadn't given me a problem before. I ground them on #5, gave them a medium tamp, and made sure I had the correct settings activated on the machine. I've tried changing the grind to more coarse and more fine and experimented with the firmness of the tamp, but the same thing happens. Do you have any ideas of what could be causing this and how I can fix it? I've got a video of what's happening but need to get it off my phone, as soon as I do, I'll upload it here.

P.S. I'm also searching for a place where I can buy small amounts of good fresh beans in decaf - suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately I don't know anything about the Breville, but you can buy decaf right off this site under the beanbay section

Old stale beans for a start.