Like Tree10Likes
  • 1 Post By Jackster
  • 3 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By ultralightmeme
  • 2 Post By CafeLotta
  • 1 Post By JetBlack_Espresso
  • 1 Post By Willowbanker
  • 1 Post By lestone

Thread: New machine advice. Looking at the nuova Simon Elliott oscar 2. Alternatives?

Cool New machine advice. Looking at the nuova Simonelli oscar 2. Alternatives?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi its time to upgrade my current machine i have been using for about 8 years now. I drink a mix of espresso and milk based coffees. Our household usually only makes about four coffees a day. Looking at spending around $1000 to $1400 on a machine and topping my list at the moment is the Oscar 2. If anyone has any positive or negative feedback on this machine it would be much appreciated, as well as any other machines around this price point you think are better and why?? Also does anyone have any idea what sort of lifespan i should expect out of the oscar 2? Thanks in advance

What grinder do you currently have, and are you planning to upgrade that too? Is the budget for machine only or both?

Hi sorry yes that budget is just for the coffee machine i am also upgrading the grinder to compak k3 or m2m or something around that
    Last edited by Willowbanker; 10th May 2019 at 03:03 PM. Reason: Auto correct

I have a Musica that I like. The Oscar2 is similar but no hot water wand. Not that big a deal as you can just use group water or steam your water as hot as you like.
    I don't like the warm up time, but that is easy to rectify.

I think the Oscar is the same as the Musica, in that if it's turned on, and you flick it off at the wall, when you flick the wall back on, the Musica starts heating up. This suits a wifi switch perfectly.
    lestone likes this.

I can recommend the slightly cheaper Rancilio Silvia, although I am not sure what you are upgrading from?