• 1 Post By Jackster
  • 1 Post By Jackster
  • 1 Post By Jackster
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By Jackster
  • 3 Post By Javaphile
  • 2 Post By BuddingBarista
  • 1 Post By level3ninja

Thread: Oscar Version 1 - Changing flow pressure from the group head?

Oscar Version 1 - Changing flow pressure from the group head?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,

I am new to the home espresso scene, and have recently purchased a 2nd hand NS Oscar and also picked up a 2nd Hand Mazzer grinder.

I have played around a bit with timings, grind size and setting up the machine right (i.e. start up procedure: Purge the group and steam wand)

One thing I can't do is pull consistent shots, i.e. To get the same results of coffee, time, yield.

I am aiming for 16-18g coffee (seems to be the basket size I have) : 25-30 seconds : 30g yield

Sometimes the Yield might be higher than the last one even though I've used the same grind, technique, and vice versa.

I have varying results, with the coffee coming out too fast and too slow.

Though I am aware my technique could be an issue, I also think the way/flow of water from the group may be affecting it.

Here are two videos, showing different types of flow from my Machine.

(1) . Pressure seems to high?
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/2LvW9watiqjpBtjL9

(2) . Pressure seems normal (this occurs after running the group for some time, and also after letting some steam out of the steam valve)
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/ew8SqmstZWwv29pd6

Could anyone confirm that the difference in these flows would make a difference to the coffee? I've found that with (1) the coffee gushes out more, though that could be a result of my technique too.

More importantly, does (1) suggest anything is wrong with the machine, parts ? Is there a way to avoid it with the machine setup procedure.

After running the group for 10-20 Seconds, and letting off some steam from the valve, I can get the flow to appear in (2).