Like Tree10Likes
  • 2 Post By roosterben
  • 3 Post By CafeLotta
  • 1 Post By JetBlack_Espresso
  • 1 Post By BeanB4
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By gerbi

Thread: Need you coffee guru's to give some opinions and ideas re purchase of coffee machine

Need you coffee guru's to give some opinions and ideas re purchase of coffee machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello coffee guru's, go easy on me, I am new to this.

I would like some opinions on the two models I have been thinking about purchasing and if there might be something of better quality you would recommend?

I am looking at spending up to about $1300 au, the less the better

I have been looking at the following,

Breville Barista Touch Espresso Coffee Machine - Stainless Steel $1250,ish

OR THE
    Breville The Dual Boiler Coffee Machine and the BCG820BSS Grinder $970 combined.

We are milk based coffee drinkers, not sure if this makes any difference when purchasing a machine.

I think the Dual boiler may be a better purchase, but like the smaller foot print of the Touch with grinder built in.

Please give me your honest opinions and no problem if you are brutal in your advice, I haven't purchased yet,

Regards,

Greg

There are a couple of links in BES920 owners topic suggesting Breville Dual Boiler and Breville Smart Grinder can be purchased for about $870-ish combined when purchased separately.

Anyway, $711 for BES920 sounds like a good deal to me even if I consider BES920 is a bit unreliable.

Smart Grinder... It might be Ok for the grinder under $200 but I am sure there are other options.

I hope you are aware this is a proper machine and it requires proper beans.

Morning Bean84, welcome to Coffee Snobs.

Cant help with advice re Breville machines, however, as Gerbi commented, quality fresh beans are a key component of good coffee, don't go down the supermarket path, the beans are invariably cheap and stale.