• 2 Post By mthomas87
  • 7 Post By CafeLotta
  • 5 Post By Caffeinator
  • 1 Post By saeco_user
  • 1 Post By deegee
  • 2 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 4 Post By Stig77

Thread: Limited budget - which Breville machine is best?

Limited budget - which Breville machine is best?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Newbie here. Our Nespresso machine kicked the bucket last weekend and I need a new coffee machine ASAP. I’ve been eyeing off a nice Italian machine but funds are limited until we pay off a $10k tax office bill! I have about $600 of David Jones vouchers and they have some good prices on Breville machines at the moment so was thinking of getting one to use for a 2-3 years and then sell and upgrade. But which one to get? We make about 4 coffees a day. I’m super fussy about milk so often have a short black, but if I could get one with a decent steamer I might start to enjoy lattes again.

Looking at:

- Dual Boiler is $900 which seems like a great price but I would have to get a grinder. Is there a decent cheap grinder?
    - Barrister Pro is $800
    - Barrister Express is $630

Theres an Oracle for about $1700 but I feel like if I’m going to pay that much we might as well get a better brand ...

Advise please?

I haven't tried the Barista (barrister is a lawyer) with the touch screens but I would put my money on the dual boiler for sure. They're currently $827 at Harvey Norman so you should be able to get DJ to price match. A second hand grinder from the forums or gumtree (if you're feeling a bit more brave) should be able to get you making coffee again for around $1k all up.
    CafeLotta and level3ninja like this.

Quote Originally Posted by mthomas87 View Post
    I haven't tried the Barista (barrister is a lawyer)....
    As far as Barristers go -

Dual boiler - Lawyer X Nicola Gobbo

Barrister Pro - David Galbally

Barrister Express - Saul Goodman (Better call Saul)

The Oracle - Geoffrey Robertson