Thread: Another noob, same question, which machine?

Another noob, same question, which machine?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All,
    Please be gentle this is my first time!
    I know youve answered this question hundreds of times before and Ive read most of your answers, plus umpteen others on other forums.
    However everyone is different so here is my situation.
    I love good coffee
    I always drink my coffee with milk.
    I only drink 1, occaisionally 2, cups a day.
    At home I have a Sunbeam EM0450 conical burr grinder and a stove top stainless steel Vev Vigano. I use Lavazza beans or occasionally organic beans that my wife buys. This combination produces an acceptable cup of coffee but not as good as I can get from an espresso bar or good cafe. In the past Ive had a few thermoblock machines but found them no better than the stove top pot. I found the Sunbeam grinder a huge improvement over the Breville Annihilator (or whatever it was) that I was previously using. *
    My rating of espresso bars and cafes goes something like this. 20% make great coffee, 50% make OK coffee, 30% I would never visit again.

So what machine should I buy for weekend use for myself, my wife and the odd guest?
    I dont want to spend more than $1000 unless you can convince me otherwise. I dont mind investing some time and effort in getting the best out of my new machine.
    My own research has narrowed it down to a choice between the Rancilio Silvia and the Rancilio Silvia. I didnt like the sound of the aluminium boiler in the Gaggia Classic. For my use a HX or dual boiler seems overkill, not to mention out of my price range.
    Im planning to visit one of the CS sponsors tomorrow to check out the Silvia

So what are your suggestions?
    Will the Silvia do the job?
    Will the Sunbeam grinder suffice? Ive read many times that the grinder is more important than the espresso machine.