Thread: Time to move up to something more serious

Time to move up to something more serious

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi there,

Ive been dabbling in the persuit of the perfect coffee for many years now.

However, with limitted funds Ive purchased a number of low-end Krupps and Sunbeam espresso machines (which never seem to last).

Anyway, I now feel its time to upgrade to something more serious. What Im looking for is something that has a manual operation (not push a button to grind, pack, steam and produce crap) and that has a decent steam arm for frothing the milk.

The retail stores guys just look at you blankly when you ask for something like this!!!

My local barrista is recommending a Isomac Venus which he can get me for $1,000. To me, this is a lot of moolahh.

My question is... is there anything out there that people can actually recommend from experience that is a quality machine for less than this? If so, where do I get it from?

Re: Time to move up to something more serious

Hi vadie and welcome to CS!

Perhaps the most popular, and reliable machine under $1K is the Rancilio Silvia, though it too has its flaws.

Regardless of which machine you may choose, the quality of the espresso produced will be more reliant on the grinder that you use, rather than any espresso machine.

If you can, take the opportunity to compare machines side-by-side. If you happen to live in either Sydney or Melbourne, we and Talk Coffee (Chris) can arrange this for you. If you live elsewhere, feel free to give either myself or Chris a call, as we would be happy to provide you with information.

Cheers
    Den