Thread: New guy, bought EM6910 and EM0480

New guy, bought EM6910 and EM0480

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, just picked up the sunbeam after reading this site for a couple of weeks. Ive never owned any kind of coffee machine ever, so Im new to everything. I appreciate nice coffee despite never making my own. Time to try!

Coz Im a n00b, I just bought some Gloria Jeans special espress blend... before I get flamed. It was easy to get and I wanted it mainly to practice... hehe

So I set my gear up and tried my first extraction. I set my grinder to approx "12", grind into basket, knock basket to bench, grind, gentle tamp to level, grind, knock, tamp, grind, knock, hard tamp with twists at end (yeh i watched the dvd)

My first extraction just pissed out bigtime, too quick, no good colours... too course I figured. Reset grinder to approx 8. tried again, dosed a little higher in the basket this time... machine struggled to produce anything. drip drip drip, black. fail. down the sink it goes.

Third attempt, grinder set to 10, a little less dose, extract.... meter was just on the top end of the "perfect extraction". All on manual... stopped the extraction as the colour went really light.. I drank this one, it actually tasted good! I also tried texturing milk and pretty much got it first go, its pretty easy really!

This morning (second time on machine) I set the grinder a little courser (10) and dosed a tiny bit more. extraction was in between the ideal spots on the gauge, it poured well. I did milk and enjoyed a flat white... not bad, and must admit, tasted like the stuff they serve over the counter. I also made my wife a hot chocolate with max brenner stuff, made syrup, textured milk, combined.. she said it was very nice :)

this morning my puck/cake came out impressioned by the showerhead, but was still rather damp, dose more?