Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    194

    opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Well, being the passionatte coffeesnob that i am, i just know that the buyers at work are going to ask my opinion on the new delonghi primadonna coffee machine they have bought. Personally, I have never been a big fan of fully automatics, but I am sure they will want more of an opinion than that.

    So, anyone have any experience with these?

    It looks kind of nice, but it still tries to do everything and ive always been a bit wary about that. Also not sure how it will cope with 30 people using it....

    Still, its probably better than the old saeco thats upstairs.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,498

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    raphec.....

    The machine... IMHO.... is aptly named "primadonna"......

    As Wikipedia describes so well http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prima_donna

    Not only does it mean "First lady".... but also

    "the term often signifies a vain, obnoxious and temperamental person" .... or coffee machine!!

    SuperAutomatics are always more trouble when it comes to maintenance..... (also costly)..... and although it is almost certainly better than the Saeco..... the coffee will never be as good as a "real" machine.....

    Interesting choice of name! I wonder if they intended to tell the truth ::) ;D ;D ;D

  3. #3
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    SuperAutomatics are always more trouble when it comes to maintenance..... (also costly)
    *this is because the people who own them dont mantain them, dont clean them, dont use filtered water, dont descale them.
    why
    because most people in department stores have no idea what they are selling - it is just another sale
    *the majority of repairs are due to lack of cleaning
    this is no different from most commercial repairs

    *part of the expensive repair price can be blamed on some oiff the repairers. ive had numerous saeco automatics in the door that have been elsewhere for repair or for a quote
    -some have been butchered, plastic parts broken etc due to lack of care or knowledge
    -others have been told it will cost $600 +, better to buy a new one
    ive had 3 in the past 2 weeks that were quoted over $600 to fix, dearest repair was $385

    ..... and although it is almost certainly better than the Saeco
    *delonghi dont manufacture coffee machines, most out of china, no better than the sunbeam 8900 auto which comes out of the same factory

    *i know a number of customers who are on there 3rd delonghi in 6 months

    *they probably would have been better to get there saeco serviced

    *the saeco has better extraction and better milk frothing capabilities
    and parts are available (most of the time)

    delonghi(except the 1385),Kenwood auto, sunbeam auto, krups (all), Bosch

    too many people blame the equpment, when a lot of the fault lays with the repairer,(most of the repairers fix appliances and no very little about coffee)
    or the importer who doesnt carry parts



  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    194

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    fair call

    I think the real issue is that the saeco is used by 30-50 people a day. none of whom care about it.

    the delonghi will have less people using it as it will be exclusive to the buying team.

    Neither will be treated right by the users.

    I suspect a fully auto would be fine at the home of a coffeesnob who gave it the same level of care we are apt to giving our "Real" machines

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    I would agree with fix.
    We have a Dura Impressa at work that does around 2 - 3kg per week and while its no patch on a full manual machine such as Giotto, its still not that bad for what its trying to achieve.
    You just dont get a full range of flavours or a an appropriate amount of crema regardless of adjustment of the grind and water volume.

    For staff its easy to use and gets cleaned regularly by the "girl friday", those that dont like what it produces go to the cafe at the bottom of the building and buy their own.

    Mal

  6. #6
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,988

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Quote Originally Posted by raphec link=1220603407/0#3 date=1220665401
    I suspect a fully auto would be fine at the home of a coffeesnob who gave it the same level of care we are apt to giving our "Real" machines
    Hmmm, dont think so mate.... True CoffeeSnobs wouldnt even consider such a machine for home use, I know I wouldnt, :P

    Mal.

  7. #7
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,288

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    We have a DeLonghi super auto at work (EAM3500), and we would use less than a kilo a week.

    The machine is cleaned every night, I do the maintenance and keep it supplied with fine, fresh roasted coffee. So far it has been back for repairs/adjustments 4 times in the last 2 years. All under warranty up to now--but that is running out soon, so the social club will soon find out the cost of repairs.
    We pay 50 cents a cup and that has paid for most of the machine, the coffee, and the cleaning agents.

    Greg

    I MUCH prefer the coffee from my Macap M4D/VBM Domobar, although the DL beats the local coffee barn easily.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    I just got a special flyer from Myer
    These Delonghi Primadonna coffee machines cost $2699
    At that price
    I would seriously consider a Jura

    KK

  9. #9
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Graeme (fix),

    spot on although I suspect you are being very diplomatic here and leaning on repairers more, and the clients less, than you might otherwise have done.

    Automatic machines serve a purpose especially in offices but they need daily care and attention, someone to be responsible for the machine, *AND THEY NEED TO BE SET UP INITIALLY just like a conventional machine and grinder.

    One of the biggest problems lies with clients who:

    a) think that because its called "automatic" it should just "work straight out of the box" and

    b) think that every service problem is someohow a "warrantable" freebie when much of it is caused by the clients lack of understanding or knowledge of the equipment. The most common form of "breakdown" = congealed milk in the frother be it an auto frother or a standard steam pipe. *This is a chargeable cleaning problem, not a warrantable defect. Second most common form of "breakdown" or "lousy coffee" = maladjustment of grinder and dose. This is client responsibility and again is a chargeable service.

    c) go to department stores to buy stuff that they should have purchased from an experienced coffee equipment or office coffee equipment vendor who as the phrase suggests, specialises in supplying machines to this particular (the office) market sector.

    I will have to apologise in advance for writing this as it is bound to upset someone and perhaps it is a gross generalisation, but as far as coffee machines go dept stores dont know what theyre selling to you and I dare say salesmen and women dont care what youre going to do with it once youre gone....that means you dont get "fitted" with the right machine for your particular situation, and of course not all situations are the same.

    And of course, the dept store gives no back up service....you get sent elsewhere if you need that sometime down the track, and you are a once only retail client for the initial purchase.

    So please, STOP this piss ant generalising that auto machines are "no good", and do seek out professional office coffee machine specialists instead of picking machines out of dept store cattledogs on the basis of whats on special this week with zero back up service but geez, I get 12 months interest free terms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Some of us (office coffee specialists) work pretty hard trying to fit up the right machine to the client, and provide back up, pick up and delivery services, and workshop facilities sometimes providing loaner machines for account clients, for when there is a need, and often doing free service calls to people where no legitimate problem exists, just a lack of understanding of the equipment. *To offer this kind of service, unfortunately, costs more than cattledog special prices with interest free terms. To these people you are not a once only client.......

    ***********************

    In closing and to get back on topic........the machine which is the topic of this discussion may well be a goodun but that not only depends on whether it is a well designed and built machine, but very very much on whether the people in the office look after it well and learn to understand it. Good luck with it and I hope you enjoy it for what it is and get the best possible coffee out of it.

    ***********************

    Regardz,
    Attilio
    first / original CS site sponsor.

    ACT and southern NSW Jura automatic espresso machine Area Distributor, offering all the above services to qualifying clients, cant help but be higher prices than "take it away in the box & dont ever want to see you again" store prices.

    *

  10. #10
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,955
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna


    (snip) out of dept store cattledogs (snip)
    ...very strange Kelpies in the ACT, wont those across the ditch share their sheep?

    cough, cough, back on topic.

    A good thought provoking post Attilio.

    I often "go in to bat" for automatic machines, I can see their place in the market just like I can see a market for instant coffee and Nestle Quik, in fact my previous workplace used all three of those. With regular cleaning, a bit of tweaking and an understanding of the limitations of the auto machine we could get a pretty good doubleshot from it with good coffee.

    The only thing I would add for discussion is from the few auto machines I have fiddled with, I have noticed they use a very small basket and seem to suffer from not enough coffee in a shot (ergo my "doubleshot" reference above). Is that typical of the commercial grade equipment too?


  11. #11
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Hi Andy, thanks for feedback.

    The better machines allow very good grinds dose adjustment which can be used to very good advantage in making your brew.

    On autos I too like to set a large dose (albeit a single) which makes for very full bodied and smooth black coffee depending on the blend used.

    .....and I guess one of the points that I hoped would come across above, is that how "good" an auto machine turns out to be for someone, is very much dependent in the end on how well that someone treats, and understands the machine. Our Juras are the standard that all others aspire to (particularly in the area of rate of breakdown) but even they can turn into a "bad" machine when placed into a "hostile" workplace with people that just dont "get it".

    Regardz,
    Attilio.
    first / original CS site sponsor.

  12. #12
    Senior Member GregJW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Armidale, NSW
    Posts
    618

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Quote Originally Posted by Koffee Kosmo link=1220603407/0#7 date=1220752806
    I just got a special flyer from Myer
    These Delonghi Primadonna coffee machines cost $2699
    At that price
    I would seriously consider a Jura

    KK
    I know what Attilio is saying - theres a place in the market for these machines and, like everything, you have to understand how to operate it properly and look after it properly, but for $2,500-3,000... well if I had a choice between a Unico Splendor/ Macap M4 combo or a superauto... hmmm.. Splendor/Macap or superauto..

    Tough choice...NOT! ;D

  13. #13
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,955
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: opinions on the delonghi primadonna

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight

    ...but it is a tough choice for business Greg.

    You can get great coffee from a clean, pointy-end domestic manual machine with a pile of passion and some amount of know how but it comes at a cost. In a work environment there are factors like mess and time-wasted which count for more than the merits of good coffee (in the bean counters eyes anyway).

    I dont want to hijack this thread so I have just created a new one to discuss the positives of pointer-end superauto machines.
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1220931613




Similar Threads

  1. DELONGHI PrimaDonna Espresso Coffee Machine Model ESAM6700
    By posbcoffeenut in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st December 2010, 08:50 PM
  2. [m]: opinions on the delonghi primadonna
    By Dimal in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 05:47 PM
  3. Re: Considering a DeLonghi PrimaDonna -found em c
    By robusto in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th January 2007, 09:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •