Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Opinion on an upgrade

  1. #1
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Opinion on an upgrade

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi guys! I think the time has come where I may need to upgrade from my little EM3600. Especially with christmas coming, and upgrade cash high on my wish list, i was wondering what your opinions are?

    Im mostly a latte drinker, but the occasional piccolo or macchiato as well. I usually make my girlfriend and i doubleshot coffees in the morning, and individual doubles throughout the day for myself if Im home. Sometimes itll make 4 or 5 doubles a day.

    I was originally looking at the breville dual boiler. So i set the budget at $1500. But id like to have some left over. I would like to keep my EM480 if possible. But we could allow for a new grinder in the budget as well.

    Then I thought about a good single boiler, such as the diadema perfetta. Or even the rancilio silvia, if so i could probably upgrade the grinder to the rocky or smart grinder. Or when thinking about steaming milk and extracting espresso at once - the subeam 6910...

    Would the 480 do any of these machines justice?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    296

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    try upgrading the grinder first, then see if you still need a new machine.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    346

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    agree the grinder will be a weak point in any machine upgrade.

    having said that, the 0480 is okay with the 6910. Silvia is fussy (so not a match for the 480), Lelit less so.

    Anything above Lelit/ Silvia would absolutely demand a grinder upgrade.

  4. #4
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Well thats a shame. This 480 isnt that old... Which of these machines would the smart grinder be a match for?

    I suppose my big question. Is will the 480 with any of the above machines make a better coffee than my current 3600? Ignoring the fact that i wont be able to get the best out of the machine?

  5. #5
    enjoy black coffee JamesM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    672

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    I had the EM6910 and EM0480 combo... I came in to some cash that I could blow on coffee equipment and decided (from learning and reading here on CS) that Id be best upgrading my grinder before my machine. I went from EM0480 to a Mazzer Mini. The coffee was instantly better, even on the EM6910!

    I took the EM0480 to work to grind on a Gaggia Classic I have there, fine, but recently picked up a cheap Gaggia MDF (site sponsor) and the thing just blows the EM0480 away (and its the same price!!!).

    I seriously think the MDF is a big competitor for the EM0480, considering they cost about the same now.

  6. #6
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by 5F7A6D727F231B0 link=1321674453/3#3 date=1321699958
    Well thats a shame. This 480 isnt that old... Which of these machines would the smart grinder be a match for?

    I suppose my big question. Is will the 480 with any of the above machines make a better coffee than my current 3600? Ignoring the fact that i wont be able to get the best out of the machine?
    Id still like an answer to this nonetheless.

  7. #7
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by 4065726D603C040 link=1321674453/3#3 date=1321699958
    Which of these machines would the smart grinder be a match for?
    None of em in my opinion. If fact the only uses Id consider a 480 for would be siphon/drip/press/dual wall basket espresso machine.

    The Smart is good value, but times change. Now that the K3 Push is available, Id recommend that you look seriously at it and its where I reckon the bidding for astute espresso machine purchasers shoould be opening the bidding.

  8. #8
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Here are some more opinions David:

    a) I dont believe the mdf costs the same as the Em480 .....the current price reduction is some kind of one off special or run out or whatever..."now" yes while stocks last, and I believe stocks are close to exhausted. After that who knows?

    b) I wouldnt buy an mdf from an em480 as I consider it wouldnt be much more than a sideways step and therefore in my opinion, a waste of money. If you can afford better, buy better or not at all.

    c) I am going to disagree with others opinions that you should upgrade your grinder first....given what you have, I would rather see you upgrade your machine to a better level to start with.

    d) depending on your total budget and where you think you want to eventually end up, you may be able to upgrade your machine and your grinder to an acceptable mid level now, pending more time and savings for the future.

    e) possible suggested upgrade to an acceptable mid level in the short term could be something like a silvia and a eureka mignon or a compak K3 of whatever type.* That would give you a much better (in my opinion) set up compared to what you have now, perfectly suited to the small home use you advised above, to a high domestic standard in the cup (and on your palate) for the affordable price paid.

    f) and of course, CosmoreX Coffee can help you with that.

    Hope that helps.

    Rgdz,
    Attilio
    very first CS site sponsor

  9. #9
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,539

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    So many ways to to "skin a cat", as they say..... ;) 8-)

    Mal.

  10. #10
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by 605443554E79654940404343260 link=1321674453/7#7 date=1321786113
    c) I am going to disagree with others opinions that you should upgrade your grinder first....given what you have, I would rather see you upgrade your machine to a better level to start with.

    d) depending on your total budget and where you think you want to eventually end up, you may be able to upgrade your machine and your grinder to an acceptable mid level now, pending more time and savings for the future.

    e) possible suggested upgrade to an acceptable mid level in the short term could be something like a silvia and a eureka mignon or a compak K3 of whatever type.* That would give you a much better (in my opinion) set up compared to what you have now, perfectly suited to the small home use you advised above, to a high domestic standard in the cup (and on your palate) for the affordable price paid.
    Someone agrees with me! I was looking at the Compak K3 actually. So maybe K3 and the Silvia? Or in your opinion, would I be better off with the dual boiler and the 480? Ideally, Id prefer not to upgrade the grinder yet (as like I said, its only a few months old).

    David

  11. #11
    enjoy black coffee JamesM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    672

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    great thread guys :) very constructive!

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    346

    Re: Opinion on an upgrade

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Attilio is the man! Or at least one of the industry experts (and my local).

    Listen to the man not me. I just parrot his advice and the other experts...

    If you do upgrade the grinder - youll find plenty of buyers for the 480. Im considering buying one for my in-laws...

    Im about to pick up a ridiculously cheap brand new cimbali domus + 10kg of beans. In-laws to get the machine and 1kg beans to the rest of the extended coffee drinking family. On second thoughts my Xmas shopping is done - one of the other relatives can get the damn grinder! Like TC says, it probably should be a k3 or at least a smart grinder.

    Anyone have concerns about a domus being received into a home with no prior machine experience? A 2 day tutorial should be enough.



Similar Threads

  1. Anyone have an opinion on these?
    By sampam in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th June 2011, 08:17 AM
  2. What to buy - your opinion please!
    By jimjam in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 6th June 2007, 01:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •