Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,
    I have a friend who has an M20 Cimbali machine and wants to sell it. She is asking $500. My sister is looking for a machine for her cafe/deli she is setting up, but doesnt want to spend a lot.
    Her cafe will be in a small country town (pop. app. 1500) with minimal amount of tourist traffic at this stage. Can anyone give us some advice on if this is a good buy!!! Or if anyone has any recommendations on what to get.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member Dennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4,512

    Re: Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali

    Hi melatassilem and welcome to CS!

    The M20 is a great machine and there are a few owners here..JavaB, Javaphile (?).

    How good the particular machine your friend is selling is impossible to say as it would depend on how carefully its been looked after.

    You might like to take a look at the following thread for some info....

    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1155104339/0

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,498

    Re: Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali

    melatassilem,

    Welcome to CS.

    Well I love my M20.... but these models are quite old now.... around 20 years! The price being asked is about right.

    They are built like a tank, spares are readily available..... but before one could be used in a commercial environment it would probably need a major overhaul to ensure it was reliable..... and unless you have the time - and knowledge *- to do that yourself..... it would be expensive!!

    As soon as I purchased mine (in working condition - removed from a cafe) I stripped her down and did a clean and full refurb.... components cost very little..... but if I had to pay someones time to do the work :( :( :(

    They make a great espresso, but Id be thinking about a more recent (and more expensive!) machine..... as it needs to be 100% reliable for cafe use (which mine has been by the way)....

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Some opinions on the M20 Cimbali

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    we are starting to use an m20 at our new cafe. we have had to spend about $1500 to rebuild it. that includes parts and labor. and we got a deal on that because it needed lots of work. but now it is running and needs some tweaking. but i think its going to work. id say its worth it to use your m20 if you can find a friend who knows how to fix the machines and will charge you a friendly rate. it all depends on what is wrong with it. i guess id get an estimate first.

    we might be interested in buying it from you for parts--if you are not too far away... we are in Asheville, North Carolina.



Similar Threads

  1. Cimbali Cadet /Cimbali Max /Cimbali Junior manual
    By cremaluver in forum Grinders
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15th February 2011, 04:26 PM
  2. Any opinions?
    By Shotgun in forum Cup Tasting Room
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20th December 2009, 05:26 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st December 2007, 07:50 PM
  4. Opinions on the La Cimbali Junior?
    By dsgfh in forum Brewing Equipment - Extreme Machines ($3000+)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19th September 2007, 10:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •