Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

  1. #1
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    My new Diadema Junior EXTRA arrived last night and was soon unpacked and set up on the kitchen bench. My thanks to Attilio and Jess at CosmoreX.

    I cant really add much to Mals review--I agree with it all. Thanks Mal. Review here http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1238486416.

    What I can add is that my FIRST coffee from the machine was easily one of the best coffees Ive made, and so were the second and third! And the feel of the steam and hot water controls are sublime. This machine works as beautifully as it looks!

    As for TNT, most of my comments must be :-X for politeness. Despite the wooden skid, the huge, heavy cardboard box, and the shrink-wrap, they managed to punch a hole in the box and dent the glossy stainless side-panel, and then taped over the hole and wrote "ChecKED OK" on the packing tape. :o

    I reckon it would have been safer if it had been dragged behind the truck. >:(

    My VBM Piccolo is still for sale, but given the shipping experience, I would really prefer an Adelaide buyer. Details in the For Sale section.

    Im off for another coffee.

    Greg

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 1E2B3C3E0E362B3438353D590 link=1243315676/0#0 date=1243315676
    ....As for TNT, most of my comments must be :-X for politeness. Despite the wooden skid, the huge, heavy cardboard box, and the shrink-wrap, they managed to punch a hole in the box and dent the glossy stainless side-panel, and then taped over the hole and wrote "ChecKED OK" on the packing tape. :o
    TNT by name, TNT by outcome as well..... ::)

    Do I miss them...NO WAY!

    Enjoy the new kit Greg ;)

    2mcm

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    224

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Sucks about the dent... But YAY for Diadema build quality otherwise.

    Good to hear you got good results straight away too - It took me a few days to get used to the difference between the domestic and commercial.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    466

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 065941575C575B5252515159555A340 link=1243315676/1#1 date=1243316877
    Quote Originally Posted by 1E2B3C3E0E362B3438353D590 link=1243315676/0#0 date=1243315676
    ....As for TNT, most of my comments must be :-X for politeness. Despite the wooden skid, the huge, heavy cardboard box, and the shrink-wrap, they managed to punch a hole in the box and dent the glossy stainless side-panel, and then taped over the hole and wrote "ChecKED OK" on the packing tape. :o
    TNT by name, TNT by outcome as well..... ::)

    Do I miss them...NO WAY!

    Enjoy the new kit Greg ;)

    2mcm
    OT: So who are you using now Chris?

    ON: I use a machine manufactured by BFC (manufacturers of the diadema line) at work and they really are a great machine. Never used the domestic line but from the reviews it seems as though they are great performers.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Started reading and hearing you say that your first shot the best ud had I thought I might be doing something really wrong until it occured to me that you hadnt come from a bargain basement machine like I have.

    Its great to here that you are enjoying the machine and that it is working well for you.

    What grinder do you use.

    You need to post some pics of machine and some decent shots!!!

    JB

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    35

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    TNT - had plenty of stuff arrive from TNT - actually crap loads of it, and never had a problem - maybe all the good delivery people all work in Newcastle? ;)

  7. #7
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    In 12 months to late 08, TNT caused significant damage to at least 10 machines, destroyed 2 machines and one "disappeared" after their driver signed for it, but before it left the TNT dock.

    Of course, none of this was the responsibility of TNT *::)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Couriers have always amazed me. Their job is to get item X from a to b but they wont guarantee it unless you pay extra for insurance.

    Sorta like me as an accountant saying that I will do your tax return but wont guarantee it is correct unless you pay me double.

    Theyre notoriously hard to deal with too(couriers that is ;))

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    151

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    This is all very worrying for me as Ive had delivery probs from couriers - tho it was a strecthed canvas mounted on a wooden frame which I sort of expected some damage. But when Ive read that theyve damaged 10 and destroyed 2 Im a little concerned as I just checked out one of the sponors site on a Rancilio combo and Doh they use TNT...... :-/

  10. #10
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 393C3B3D213235530 link=1243315676/8#8 date=1243333730
    This is all very worrying for me as Ive had delivery probs from couriers - tho it was a strecthed canvas mounted on a wooden frame which I sort of expected some damage. But when Ive read that theyve damaged 10 and destroyed 2 Im a little concerned as I just checked out one of the sponors site on a Rancilio combo and Doh they use TNT...... :-/
    Just check that they have marine (freight) insurance or that theyre taking out at least TNT level B insurance.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    151

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    ohhh! that sounds like mega$$$

    Think Ill just make sure they dont use a kangaroo as transport. :D

  12. #12
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Update on Diadema damage.

    The damage is being investigated, and may not have been the responsibility of TNT.

    In the end, what will matter is that the damage is rectified/compensated.

    It is interesting though that getting a reputation makes it easy to draw conclusions--right and wrong.

    Greg

  13. #13
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 52677072427A6778747971150 link=1243315676/11#11 date=1243343938
    Update on Diadema damage.

    The damage is being investigated, and may not have been the responsibility of TNT.

    In the end, what will matter is that the damage is rectified/compensated.

    It is interesting though that getting a reputation makes it easy to draw conclusions--right and wrong.

    Greg
    The important thing is that Attilio will make it right Greg. Its why you chose a CS sponsor ;)

    You have a great machine....Enjoy ;)

    Chris

  14. #14
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 6C5355524F487964495F4A43260 link=1243315676/4#4 date=1243327135
    **snips*

    ...it occured to me that you hadnt come from a bargain basement machine...

    What grinder do you use.

    You need to post some pics of machine and some decent shots!!!

    JB
    Going from the VBM Piccolo to the Diadema was a big step, but the techniques are very similar, and the optimum grind is almost identical. I reckon my ristrettos have improved a bit, at the very least in consistency.

    My grinder is a Macap M4D, and it does a great job. Tamping is by a purple Pullman Barista.

    Ill get some pics of the set-up when I have all the electric cords tidy ;D although the machine pics in Mals thread would take some beating.

    My shots are coming out like his too. My glasses are a bit taller and I have removed the single spout from the portafilter to enable them to fit easier so the coffee drops straight down into the glass. I may even get to work with a hole saw and convert one portafilter to bottomless. Now those pics I will post.

    Greg

  15. #15
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,775

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Excellent Greg... [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

    And shame about the damage mate :( ..... Buggers!

    Like Chris says though, Attilio will stand by you. Looking forward to those pics too mate.... :D ;D

    Mal.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 4F7A6D6F5F677A6569646C080 link=1243315676/13#13 date=1243344749
    I may even get to work with a hole saw and convert one portafilter to bottomless

    Dont do it!!!! Its only $85 for a bottomless I think. Buy one of them and flog off your current one for $50 or just keep both and use one for your blind filter.

    Justin

  17. #17
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 407F797E636455486573666F0A0 link=1243315676/15#15 date=1243351009
    Quote Originally Posted by 4F7A6D6F5F677A6569646C080 link=1243315676/13#13 date=1243344749
    I may even get to work with a hole saw and convert one portafilter to bottomless

    Dont do it!!!! *Its only $85 for a bottomless I think. *Buy one of them and flog off your current one for $50 or just keep both and use one for your blind filter.

    Justin
    Justin... I like teh way your thinking..

    Greg... Now for the sake of $35 would you take a hole saw to one PF ?

    Note to self: When I get my new machine... follow the same logic... Unless I get a metal lathe as well ;)

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    306

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 0B3E3334001C3039393A3A5F0 link=1243315676/6#6 date=1243329864
    In 12 months to late 08, TNT caused significant damage to at least 10 machines, destroyed 2 machines and one "disappeared" after their driver signed for it, but before it left the TNT dock.

    Of course, none of this was the responsibility of TNT *::)
    As a technology reviewer, I get a lot of gear shipped to me and must admit that the only damage has been from TNT - not once,. not twice, but several times. They also managed to lose parts of consignments, so that I got five of seven boxes and had to wait more than a week for the other two, and then managed to lose one of them when it was returned (permanently, I suspect).

  19. #19
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 4C7375726F685944697F6A63060 link=1243315676/15#15 date=1243351009
    Quote Originally Posted by 4F7A6D6F5F677A6569646C080 link=1243315676/13#13 date=1243344749
    I may even get to work with a hole saw and convert one portafilter to bottomless

    Dont do it!!!! *Its only $85 for a bottomless I think. *Buy one of them and flog off your current one for $50 or just keep both and use one for your blind filter.

    Justin
    Thanks Justin,

    Except the Diadema comes with two portafilters as standard equipment.

    Greg

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    440

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 03362123132B3629252820440 link=1243315676/18#18 date=1243389637
    Except the Diadema comes with two portafilters as standard equipment.

    Ru bit in!!!!!! ;)

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    70

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Quote Originally Posted by 003522201028352A262B23470 link=1243315676/0#0 date=1243315676
    As for TNT, most of my comments must befor politeness. Despite the wooden skid, the huge, heavy cardboard box, and the shrink-wrap, they managed to punch a hole in the box and dent the glossy stainless side-panel, and then taped over the hole and wrote "ChecKED OK" on the packing tape
    This is an old trick couriers use to hide damage in boxes.

    If you get any delivery from any courier any stickers on a box always run you fingers over all stickers and push. If your fingers go through then dont sign for it as arriving undamaged.

    Cheers
    Squirrel

  22. #22
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,286

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    In the end it proved not be TNT and the damage to the box was not visible until the outside wrapping was removed, but Ill take the advice.

    Cosmorex stepped up and righted the damage, sending me a replacement panel.

    Greg

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    151

    Re: Review-Diadema Junior EXTRA, TNT shipping

    Thanks for the advice squirrel... Im currently waiting for TNT to get a move on for my toys. Im hoping the long haul west will be trouble free :-?



Similar Threads

  1. Diadema Junior Extra Q&A
    By Hide in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 02:12 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th September 2009, 12:21 PM
  3. Head to head review: Diadema Junior Extra vs Rocket Giotto PP vs Wega mini-nova
    By drcoffee in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th September 2009, 12:04 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th September 2009, 12:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •